“Bueller?….Bueller?…”

Standard

“She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” Proverbs 31:12

Good Morning, blogging community! (I took Sunday off!) I’ve been reading Psalm 91: God’s Shield of Protection, military edition by Peggy Joyce Ruth and Angelia Ruth Schum (check out my link to Peggy Joyce Ruth Ministries website) as my devotional each morning, and I have to say, the message in that book (speaking now of Psalm in the Bible) is profound! and those two ladies do a wonderful job with clarifying its message and helping to relate it to military life. Anyway, today’s devotion was over Psalm 91:14 “Because he loves me, says the Lord…” and how we show our love for God by being obedient to his word (John 14:15, “If you love me, you obey what I command”) Because we can’t physically walk up  to God, give him a big hug, and say ‘Thanks for our salvation!,’ we have to show our love for Him by obeying His commands for us, and living according to His word. Which brings me to becoming a Proverbs 31 woman; I am showing my love for God in the way I live my life by becoming the woman, wife and maybe someday mother God intends me to be.

I put two and two together in my reading this morning… I finally understand (or have a better grasp on) the “profound mystery” Paul was talking about in Ephesians 5:32. Being a good wife is symbolic of being a good Christian. Marriage is a hands-on illustration, if you will, of Christ’s relationship with the Church. It’s deep, it’s intimate, it’s unconditional, and precious! The way my husband feels towards me is symbolic of the way Jesus feels about us as sons and daughters in Christ… He “really likes us” (you’ll laugh at that later)… so in growing closer to God, I’m growing closer to my husband.

That being said, the focus of my day today is Proverbs 31:12. I can show my husband I love him by bringing him good, or acts of kindness, because we see each other in person. And while I honestly try to do something special for him on a daily basis, whether it’s just putting on make-up, vacuuming, playing video games with him, or just making his favorite dinner, I would like to do something special for him that I haven’t done recently. And my idea well is running dry. So, anyone have any ideas?… Any one?….Bueller?… *sigh* Well, to give you an idea, here are some of the things I’ve done in the past.

  1. I found out he’d be coming home early, so I had his favorite lunch (buffalo chicken strips and rice) ready for him when he walked through the door. He looked at me with those pretty blue eyes and said, “I really like you.” (…get it now?)
  2. I told him we were going to have a Gears of War day. I dressed my Xbox 360 avatar in GoW clothing, and we literally played all day.
  3. I made him a special breakfast (chocolate chip pancakes) one Saturday when he came home from a field op, and it has sort of turned into an every Saturday morning thing. He had duty this past Saturday, but Sunday morning, I asked what he wanted for breakfast, and he said, “…Something combining chips…and cakes…”
  4. I surprised him after one field op with tickets to see a High School choir concert/soiree… If you think that sounds lame, you just need to know that my husband was extremely active in choir all through high school and college and has a beautiful tenor voice. (that last part is subjective and my opinion I suppose, but I’m not the only one who thinks so.)
  5. I watched you tube videos all day to learn how to cut a high fade so I could cut his hair for him (which was really not so self-sacrificing, seeing how it’s saved us $40/month in hair cut money…ca-CHING! little victories…)

So, there are some of the more successful surprises but I wanted to do something really cool for him for Valentine’s Day. We never have really celebrated it before because we are of the opinion that we value each other every day and not just on the 14th of February… But this year is different. He’s going to have to be away from home a lot this year and next so I want to make every moment count. So help me out, sports fans!

2 responses »

  1. Eden,
    Those are all great ideas! Love the way you write! I was thinking back to our early marriage, on Walnut St. in WF…I could barely cook at all. It was Mac & Cheese…then Cheese & Mac, if you get my drift ; ) We would bake gingerbread & drive down to the Farm Fresh and buy whipping cream to put on top. I was working at CIPS & he was finishing up @ SIU, working @ Big John’s…we only had one car, so leaving in the morning was hectic, but occasionally we could have lunch together when he had a short day at school. We made up a song, “I hate you in the morning, but I love you at noon!”…to the tune of “Mockingbird Hill”. G’pa just walked in as I was typing this…I asked him if he remembered anything I did special for him or to surprise him…and all he could think of was the night we returned from our honeymoon…I sat down on the bed and it fell down to the floor! I only weighed 110 lbs then, but it was embarassing & hilarious at the same time. He was doing his practice teaching at WFHS & had a key to the woodshop…so he went down, made a piece to attach to the railing and managed to fix it before bedtime. Wow! I thought he was something!…and able to handle any problem. You’re on the right track to becoming a Proverbs 31 Woman. So proud of you…Love, G’ma

  2. Ha Ha! Thanks Gram! I remember coming home from work at Steak N’ Shake to our first night in the new apartment, and Mitch had already put together the bed, WITHOUT ANY TOOLS! I was afraid to sit on it at first, but it held together, and it took all my strength to get it apart with a wrench when we moved!

What do you think?

