Sew What?

Standard

“She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.” Proverbs 31:13

First, let me clarify my post from yesterday. I would greatly appreciate any inventive, clever, or new ideas you readers have as to how to make my husband’s Valentine’s day awesome. So start throwing some comments my way!

Now, on to today’s business. I’m having an interesting time with today’s verse. I’m going to look up the definition of flax, because honestly, I’m not sure…uh huh… mmm hmm…. ok, here it is:

  • Flax: n. 1. any plant of the genus Linum,  especially  Lusitatissimum, a slender, erect, annual plant having narrow, lance-shaped leaves and blue flowers, cultivated for its fiber and seeds.
    2. the fiber of this plant, manufactured into linen yarn, for thread or woven fabrics. 3. any of various plants resembling flax… so, yarn or thread, in essence. Wool, c’mon guys, that’s self-explanatory… So this Proverbs 31 woman is a seamstress of sorts… and she enjoys it apparently, because it says, “she works with eager hands.” Let me explain to you where my trouble comes in…

When I was about 12 or 13, I spent a week at my Gram’s house learning how to sew. We worked on a number of projects, wrap skirts, scrunchies, and I even made my sister a hanging banner for her room as a birthday present. One problem: Gram has an awesome sewing machine and serger as well as the knowledge of how to use them. I don’t remember much at all. I tried the sewing thing again in College. Me and my friend Sabrina were officially named the seamstresses of Theta Sigma Phi… We sewed countless banners for our madrigal dinner and pretty satin music stand covers for the hand bell ringers. They looked marvelous! However, the audience would never have guessed that only the major seams and hems were actually sewn. The rest… that’s right… Stitch Witchery! WE CHEATED!!!!

So I have this sewing machine, given to me by my lovely friend Jaymie, and minimalist knowledge as to how to use it… I do know how to sew by hand though… I’ve fixed multiple doggie toys and buttons… but this verse 13 is calling out a challenge… A challenge I intend to accept. So, first things first. I’ll start small, and work my way to greater things.

I have this really pretty bed spread that my husband actually picked out. It’s black with red satin. Alas, it has a small tear right at the seam.

torn bed spread

Speaking from experience, sewing satin on a machine sucks because it slips and slides and bunches… I’m a little bitter… so I figure I’ll start by hand sewing that tear, mending the bed spread and then perhaps re-attaching the button to my husband’s camis! That’s sure to boost my sewing self-confidence. Then, on to bigger and better things… like quilts! and maybe even clothing!

***

…Later That Day…

 After what seemed like unending mounds of laundry, I finally set to work on the bed spread! First, I used this awesome stuff called Fray Check. I got it at Hancock Fabrics, and let me tell you, it is a worth wile investment if you don’t want to feel like pulling your hair out.

World's most awesome fray stopper!

Then I set to stitching up the tear. I used what I call a sucher  stitch, I don’t know it’s actual sewing term… It just looks like the same thing the doctors in the ER did to my husband’s hand when he accidentally stabbed himself…(that’s a story for another day)

You can barely notice it now! YAY!

And that’s it! And it actually inspired me to make the bed for once!

Pretty Bed Spread!

On to the next project!

One response »

  1. Eden,
    So glad you are ready to sew! I’m glad I was able to give you a basic knowledge, but you’re smart. You’ll figure out the rest. We didn’t have Youtube back then. As far as the bedspread goes, hand sewing may be the best way…I don’t know how thick it is. If it’s not too thick you could turn under a little and topstitch it. Quilts, etc. are easier than mending in my opinion. You will have a brand new canvas and can “create” instead of “patch”. You go girl! I’ll be cheering you on! Hope someone gives you some great ideas about surprises for Mitch…I’m all out of ideas.

What do you think?

