Supermarket Sweep!

Standard
Supermarket Sweep!

“She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.” Proverbs 31:14

Does anyone remember the TV show, Supermarket Sweep?I LOVED THAT SHOW! I totally would have rocked as a contestant. I knew the supermarket backwards and forwards, and I rocked at figuring out where the super bonuses were.

SUPER BONUS!

Unfortunately, whenever I shop with my hubby at the commissary, it FEELS like supermarket sweep,

Maybe if I dress my husband and I in matching sweatshirts, we won't get lost and separated at the store all the time...

only like the really bad contestant who isn’t at all familiar with the show or marketing in general. I love my husband, but for real, I asked him to go find 3 things on my list:

  1. 2 cans of crescent rolls
  2. a bag of brown sugar
  3. a bottle of mustard

He came back to me with the 2 cans of crescent rolls, a bottle of mustard, a bottle of Strawberry Sunny-D, a bag of Oreos, and no brown sugar… Needless to say, when the grocery store is so incredibly crowded and my ‘divide-and-conquer’ partner gets sidetracked by sugar (not the kind I asked for) shopping sometimes gets a little unnerving.

Also, it may be my fault as well for not handing him a list to reference. When I first moved to our permanent duty station, I was hard core into planning meals. But, when you add barbershop choir rehearsals, bell choir rehearsals, church chancel choir rehearsals, bible studies, and USMC general chaos into the mix, I gradually fell away from the meal planning and reverted to a ‘what-don’t-we-have-in-the-house?’ mode and it isn’t helping my hectic trips to the commissary. So, I’m going to try harder to be like a “merchant ship” in having a set planned route by planning my meals for the week.

My awesome Aunt Heidi actually just made a menu board. She got the idea from the blog I linked to, and frankly, the woman who decided to first make a menu board is a genius, and she deserves my respect. If you check out the blog, it actually details how to make the board, and how to make it most useful for yourself. I’m totally going to make one, and I plan on posting pictures so you can all see how it turned out. Plus, I’ve found that pictures help hold me accountable- they’re visual proof I’m doing what I set out to do. So I’ll get started on that once I get all the supplies this evening and let you all know how it turns out!

2 responses »

  1. Loved this show! So weird girl..I just posted about menu planning and then I went to check out your blog and saw you were discussing the same kinda thing. We are on the same page! Good deal.

What do you think?

