Goodnight Sweetheart

Standard

“She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls.”

Never in my life did I think I’d be living out this verse literally. (except for the servant girls part) My day started at 3:30 am. I woke up with my husband (his name is Mitch btw, for those of you who didn’t know) and went to the kitchen to make him a lunch/breakfast to take with him to work. In so doing, our grocery bill has gone up a tinsy bit each month, but by couponing and shopping at the commissary, it’s totally worth saving the money he would otherwise spend eating out every day. Plus, it gives me a chance to see him in the mornings, even if it is hurried and before sunup, and I can always go back to sleep after he leaves.

I have to confess something to you all…Today, when I went into the kitchen, there was a mouse… I’ve been having a slight mouse problem, but it’s to be expected in the winter when you live out in the country surrounded by fields in a 76+ year-old house. So i’ve been combating the mice, but today, I witnessed the most unnerving thing since my war on rodents began… it was tiny… no bigger than my thumb and it was stuck on a glue trap just writhing and squeaking in dispair… I couldn’t handle it… I gagged a couple times and Mitch told me I was being ridiculous, but I didn’t see him going to dispose of it… Truth be told, my big strong marine is probably equally bothered by it, but just won’t admit it… Anyway, that really messed me up this morning, so when I went back to bed after I saw Mitch off to work, I wasn’t really able to fall asleep again.

I don’t know how that relates to the scripture at all, except for the fact that I was up before dawn, providing food for my family. I just felt so heartless thinking that that poor mouse was trying to do the same for its little mouse family, however unwelcome they may be in my home… and I felt like a monster… I have tried the more humane traps, but my mice are too clever to fall for them… But having seen what I saw today, I’m not going to use the glue traps anymore… I don’t care how effective they are. It’s just too mean.

I’m sorry you all had to read that, but it’s been weighing on my mind heavily and I had to get it off my chest… Maybe I’m just being hormonal…who knows. Anyway, I totally recommend making sack lunches for yourselves or your husbands or your kids. It saves tons of money, and is a great opportunity for you to slip a cute, loving note to your family to brighten their day.

A couple days ago, Mitch forgot his cell phone and I was all upset for a while because I knew I wouldn’t be able to tell him good morning, or otherwise communicate with him that day. Luckily, I had put a note in his lunch that morning that said, “Crush the PFT today! Love you!” so I felt really good knowing that I had still been able to reach him via  Old School text message- I wrote it by hand on notebook paper and everything!

So there is a value to living according to scripture. It’s not always the most appealing thought to wake yourself up at 3:30, but it’s totally worth it to know that you’re making a positive impact on your spouse’s day and on your marriage.

2 responses »

  1. Eden,
    I’m proud of your determined nature and your stamina. It is worth it…you’re in this together. Even when Bill used to get up to go hunting, I would wake up and fix his breakfast, then drive him to the woods and drop him off. Nothing is too much trouble to do for “my man”. G’ma Brenda

What do you think?

