The Joy of the Lord is MY strength (Nehemiah 8:10)

Standard
The Joy of the Lord is MY strength (Nehemiah 8:10)

“She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.) Proverbs 31:17

Last night was a landmark event: I hosted my first “dinner party” of sorts. One of the guy’s from my husband, Mitch’s unit came over with his wife and daughter for dinner.

Aside from the fact that dinner wasn’t yet ready when they got here, and every one sort of helped finish cooking it (which was kinda fun) it went off pretty well. I made “1-pot penne with meatballs” and for dessert, apple custard dumplings (didn’t turn out quite as good as the last time I made them) and I even did my home-made honey mustard salad dressing! (don’t worry, I’ll post all the recipes)

We had a good time, played Sequins, and just enjoyed being in each other’s company. I have to say, I was super impressed with their daughter’s behavior; she was adorable; I wish I could say the same about my doggies (shame, shame, Anna and Cyd for potty-ing inside! 😦 ) Anyway, after our friends left, I was struck with the realization that although I attempted a “1-pot” dish to save dish washing time, there were 4 adults and 1 child eating dinner… that’s 5 plates, 5 forks, 5 glasses… you get the idea… And I was hard-core bummed out. But then I realized, a Proverbs 31 woman doesn’t invite people over for fellowship and then complain about the dirty dishes. “She sets about her work vigorously!”

I was reminded of a few things yesterday… First, during our church service at 11:00, (we were also at the one at 8:30 for hand bell choir; I’ll post a link to the video once it’s on YouTube) we were singing an Anthem, and all of a sudden, although I had sung the piece at least 8 times before in rehearsals, I was struck with a sudden transcendent joy; I was swept away by God’s amazing grace and blessings he’s given me in my life and the only way I can think of to describe it is to say that it was a “God-thing” I definitely felt the presence of the Holy Spirit. And then our Pastor referenced this scripture from Roman’s 8:18:

I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

So in staring at my sink full of dirty dishes last night, I remembered that presence, that feeling standing before the congregation…and I knew that doing my dishes wasn’t such daunting a task after all.

Rosie!

Then I thought back to the women during WWII… How incredibly daunting were their daily lives? I mean at that time, most women didn’t work because it wasn’t socially acceptable; then to just be thrown into a completely different lifestyle during a time of war, with your husband, brothers, sons, etc. thousands of miles away in hand-to-hand combat… geesh…I think military wives back then were a lot worse off than those of us today, and here is why: The draft. Many men didn’t choose to enlist; they were drafted. And by association, their wives were drafted into being military wives, and into the work force.

Those who did choose to enlist, may God bless them and their families for the sacrifices they made to God, family and country. My point is that we as women have become a little spoiled. With the women’s lib. movement, we have so much freedom and choice and yet, I was about to complain about dishes when I had been fortunate enough to have a hot meal, a home in which to eat it, and family and friends with whom to share it. I think we’ve lost sight of those things and how truly important they are. And when you align yourself with God, take advantage of all the promises and gifts he’s given to you, and walk according to his Word, then I think you are finally able to put life in the right perspective: God’s perspective.

My ripped arms... (even if that picture was almost 4 years ago)

Oh, and P.S. I’m also a fan of literally making sure my arms are strong for my tasks. I rock out to Kate Potter’s Namaste Yoga series, and do a little kick-boxing, and I’m trying to get back in to running regularly so I can complete a marathon before I’m 30 (it’s on my list of things to do before 30, and I only have 9 years left!!! 😉 ) However, I am terrible at remaining consistent in my workouts and I always try to do too much too fast and end up injuring myself, so I ask for your encouragement and motivation to help me stick it out!

This is my kick-boxing class from this past summer. I'm on the far left

4 responses »

  1. Eden,
    I love your blogs. Coincidentally we also heard Romans 8:18 in our service Sunday morning. Romans 8:28 is one of my favorite and comforting passages. So proud of the path you are on. Love, G’ma Brenda

    • Me and my friend Sarah were marveling at how God works to get all his Children on the same page! – in this case literally! Thanks Gram! I appreciate all your love and support!

What do you think?

