Ca-CHING!

Standard

“When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.” Proverbs 31:21

Let me just start by saying, I’m pretty proud of myself this morning. 🙂

I set a goal for myself and I reached it. That is super satisfying. I went shopping yesterday. I chose a poor time, but I had kept putting it off, and putting it off, so it was right at noon when I left my house. I ate before I left, (or in the car actually…) and I went to the commissary so as to save some dough. Anyway, before I even got out of my car, I made sure to write my spending limit nice and large on my list to remind me not to go over. I gave myself a $125.00 limit. Eventually, I’d like to get down to $100/week, or under, but like I mentioned earlier, I didn’t jump on the opportunities to coupon so I went without. I bought everything on my list, and a couple of items that weren’t (I know, shame on me) but that I was pretty sure we’d need. The hardest part of the day was not the insane amount of people in the store, but rather the anticipation I felt standing in line at the register… I watched the cashier scan my items… $20….$55…$78… I held my breath, and then she gave me my total…
$109.18!!!! WOO HOO!!!!! then I asked for an additional $10 cash back so I could tip the bagger, (the baggers at the Commissary aren’t paid to be there. They work strictly for tips so the least you could do is make it worth their time; after all they are providing YOU with a service.) and made a stop by the MCX to pick up a prescription, and get some materials for my small group study which is still in the works, and my grand spending total for the day was $122.25!!!!! HUZZAH! even with extra items, and small group materials, I was still under my goal by $2.75. And do you know why? (well tax free shopping helps…) Because I was prepared. I made a list and stuck to it (for the most part) and because I took the effort to prepare, I reaped savings. Just a quick FYI, the last trip to the commissary was just over $150, and there were 7 additional shopping trips within 2 weeks, so I’m patting myself on the back here. Kudos for improvement.

Anyway, all of that was without coupons! So think of the crazy money you can save when you take time to plan! I’m probably one of the least organized people I know, so if I can do it successfully, chances are good that you can too. Just remember the 5 tips I gave previously:

  1. Coupon Shopping (I’m planning on taking a couponing class next Thursday!)
  2. Menu Planning (be prepared)
  3. List Making (limit yourself)
  4. Strategic Shopping (time and place)
  5. Trip Conserving (shop “one and done”)

So the wisdom I pull away from today’s Proverbs 31 verse is, be prepared. “… she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.” Make provisions for yourself and your family, so that you don’t have to be living on a string-tight budget before the next pay check comes. Trust me, it’s nice to only buy Ramen because you legitimately WANT to… In saving, you can be free to indulge a want once in a while without guilt! (I went to see Joyful Noise last night with the lovely Miss Kara, and her beautiful mother, Priscilla, whom btw I still owe for dinner 😉 . We all thought it was good.)

One response »

  1. Eden,
    YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Kristy & I read this one together & she got such a kick out of it. She is a “thrifty” shopper…and she thoroughly enjoyed all of your quips, tips & victories! When Bill & I were first married he was a student at SIU, about to graduate, I worked at CIPS (the Electric Co.). (He also worked at a local grocery store, part time.) I can still remember the feeling at check-out that you describe. I’ve never been very good at coupon-ing, but it fascinates me to watch others be successful at it. Reading your blogs makes me feel like I’m able to “peep” thru a little hole in the fence and watch you grow & mature into the “beautiful Proverbs 31 woman”. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Love you, G’ma

What do you think?

