Home maker Extraordinaire

Standard
Home maker Extraordinaire

“She makes linen garments and sells them, and supplies the merchants with sashes.” Proverbs 31:24

So after just about 24 cumulative hours of wrestling with my sewing machine, I finally figured out the correct tension setting for the specific thread and fabric I was using. Then I realized that the needle was crazy bent, so I changed that and then I was all set. The whole process would have been like 10,000 times easier if the stupid instruction manual wasn’t so incredibly vague! I feel like I could have rendered better illustrations on how to thread the thing… and I’m no artist… But I finally hemmed the tablecloth!It’s a messy, sloppy hem, and my bobbin ran out of thread a couple of times in the process (Still haven’t really gotten the winding the bobbin thing right yet…) but it is a functioning, chocolate-brown table-cloth. I decided it needed a pop of color though, so I employed a method of “retro flower making” from my friend and fellow blogger, Sarah. (btw Sarah, they turned out super cute!) I currently have the flowers pinned to the table-cloth, but I haven’t sewn them on yet. I suppose when I was sewing on the button, I should have cut out the middle man and just stitched them, button and all directly to the cloth, but I was watching an episode of Bones

(I'm a huge fan of this show...makes me want to be a forensic anthropologist.)

as I sewed, so my attention was divided…

Any who, I’d never think of selling anything I make… Unless the purchaser liked a bunch of crooked seams and weird stop-and-start stitching… I am assuming sewing is a thing like  weight lifting and kick boxing are things… The more you do it and practice doing it correctly, the better you become at doing it… My uncle Ryan always said, “Practice doesn’t make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect”… Well now, I’m just working my way through the regular kind of practice, and maybe eventually we will get to the perfect practice… But until then, I’m still working on this table-cloth. Eventually, I’d like to sew various sized and colored buttons between the flowers, and maybe a decorative zig zag stitch in teal thread… Let me know what you think. I’m hoping to start a quilt after this table-cloth gets finished… But I’m still in the process of looking for a pretty, yet simple block design… There will be more to follow, but it’s now 9:30, and I REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEALLY need to clean the house… dog hair galore, dirty clothes and dishes, clean laundry all over the couch getting covered in dog hair… it’s a vicious cycle… More later!

One response »

  1. Eden,
    Good first effort with the contrary sewing machine and a cute idea for a tablecloth! It’s so neat that you know Ryan’s correction to the “old saying”…”Practice makes perfect” ! Didn’t know you would have heard that. Actually he has a different take on all my Mom’s old sayings ; )
    Love, G’ma

What do you think?

