Keep On Rollin’

Standard
Keep On Rollin’

“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

So my husband and I don’t usually celebrate Valentine’s Day for one reason or another; work, shows, work, basic training, field ops… And this year, we still didn’t reallycelebrate. Unless you count the heart-shaped pizza we made.

Heart-shaped Pizza

 

with regular shaped homemade cheese sticks!

But we did decide to give each other the gift of fitness. We bought a heavy bag and some boxing gloves (I already had some 😉 ) and an Ab Rocker EvolutionTM- which basically just forces you to use correct form while doing crunches, sit-ups, leg lifts, and more… It definitely works.

I am so sore today! It is painful to breathe! and I was feeling a little hesitant to keep working out today, but I realized if I don’t, I’m not going to gain anything. Funny story, my Gram Gayer then shared with me a devotional site. I got hooked to it, so I went back to the site this morning and the title of the devotion was “Continue On.” I always chuckle when God manages to bring all the “loose ends” and “goings on” to full circle in my life, and I’ll tell you, I chuckled pretty hard this morning.

Not only was I feeling down about being a childless housewife, but I was wishing that I could just snap my fingers and make all my fitness goals happen instantaneously. But as I read that devotion, then Proverbs 31:27, I was also reminded of Colossians 3:17 and 23-24

17 Whatever  you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God through him… 23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It’s the Lord Christ you are serving.

I was smacked in the face with the realization that I’m not here for my own benefit. I’m here to glorify God in everything I do. My body- It’s the temple of the Holy Spirit, and working out is simply taking care of a gift given to me for a short time by our Creator. Watching over the house work, cleaning, and managing the household budget- That’s being responsible with and managing gifts given to me and my little family by God’s provision. 

So I’m going to keep working out, because it’s what I should do to take care of my body, which is basically just on loan to me if you think about it. And I will continue to take care of the house and finances because God calls me to do so.

On another note, I say we didn’t “celebrate” Valentine’s Day, but honestly, sitting on the couch, watching TV, eating heart-shaped pizza in our jammies; that’s all the celebration I require. Getting to spend the evening WITH my husband is a gift. And I’ve learned to appreciate all our jammie wearing, pizza eating, TV watching evenings together, regardless of the date on the calendar.

3 responses »

  1. Eden.
    G’pa & I have been working out on the treadmill, stationary bike & weights…hard for me…easy for G’pa (he’s there for moral support) ; )
    I know you’re tired of hearing this by now…but you ARE a remarkable young woman! Love,
    G’ma

  2. E,

    I love hearing about your life from a distance! I’m so glad you’ve started doing these blogs, they are so entertaining as well! You are an amazing gal!

    Love you!

What do you think?

