Doors or Walls

Standard

” …but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

I have a hard time telling God’s doors apart from his walls… They’re like that secret passage way in The Young Frankenstein, behind the book case; always in places I’d never have thought to look for a door. Or like the door to Jack’s private bathroom in his office on 30 Rock; it looks like a part of the wall… non-discriminate, unsuspecting, no shiny door knobs or handles. No clear or distinctive means of letting you know that it’s the door you’re looking for…

That drives me crazy… You’d think as a military wife I would have learned how to patiently wait… Well, I used to pray for patience, but then I realized that patience comes as a result of persevering through suffering and trials… So when you’re wanting patience because your husband is 3,000 or more miles away from home, suffering and trials stop seeming like attractive things to pray for… Instead, I prayed that God would give me perseverance, so that when the crazy trials did inevitably happen, I’d be able to stick it out till they were through.

But that’s where I am now… waiting… Waiting for my husband to come home, waiting for our housing questions to be answered, just…waiting…

I read a Meet Me In The Meadow devotional this morning. I’d like to share it with you:

“God wants you to move through this day with a quiet heart,
An inward assurance that He is in control,
A peaceful certainty that your life is in His hands,
A deep trust in His plan and purposes,
An abiding hope in His promises,
And a thankful disposition toward all that He allows.”

It cited Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God;…” and
Isaiah 14:24, 27, “24 The Lord Almighty has sworn, ‘Surely, as I have purposed, so it will stand’…27 For the Lord Almighty has purposed, and who can thwart him?”

Clearly, the Lord understands my fretful nature…and has given me these scriptures as a means of telling me to chill out and stop backseat driving… I’m not good at literally front seat driving, so Heaven only knows why I would attempt to correct from the backseat…

Either way, the door is for God to open or close, not me. We will end up where He wants us to be because he already has it figured out. I just need to sit back and enjoy the ride… I’m praying that whatever door I’m supposed to walk through or walk away from will be clearly marked, for my fallible human-minded sake. So far I haven’t seen it, but I’ll stay alert.

In other news, I’ve made myself a list of a few projects to work on while the husband is out of the house.

  1. patch holes in walls
  2. paint patched holes in walls
  3. clean the car inside and out (this one is going to be an all-day task)
  4. buy groceries and beat last trip’s savings goal
  5. get rid of the beginnings of this stupid cold that I probably got from Mitch, who has always acted as a carrier and never gets sick himself, but consistently spreads it around…

That’s all I’ve got for today. I’ll keep you posted on how useful my handy-man skills turn out to be. (ha ha, posted! It’s a blog pun!)

2 responses »

  1. Eden,
    You don’t know what your blogs do for me & G’pa. I got up late this a.m. and didn’t come to the computer until 8 a.m. or so…and G’pa came in from feeding the dogs and sat with me as I read my e-mails, etc. We just read your blog. Once again I am impressed with your assesment of things and your thought processes. A lot of people don’t take advantage of God’s guidance…but you seem to have tuned in to “God’s soft promptings”…as the song says. If you continue down this path of letting God lead He will direct your paths. Still praying for His guidance…Love, G’ma & G’pa Gayer

What do you think?

