Standing On the Promises

Standard

“When it snows, she has no fear for her household;…” Proverbs 31:21

There have been some really devastating storms recently in my home town. The community college from which I graduated last May suffered substantial damage, and has been closed for the past week. My thoughts and prayers go out to all of those individuals who suffered loss in the storms, especially loss of family members. I pray that God extends his peace and comfort to all of you, and that he holds you in his mighty hands, protecting you from further storms. I strongly recommend praying the 91st Psalm of protection over your home and family. I pray for mine every night, and thank the Lord, all of them are safe, and unharmed. I don’t fear for their safety because I know God is watching over them every night, and my prayers don’t go unanswered. God is good.

In addition to that prayer of protection, my heart goes out to the Westboro Baptist Church. My heart aches for you because you do not truly know the Father. Shame on you for daring to protest the funerals of those who were killed in the storm. I feel badly for you because your “beliefs” contradict your own religion. I feel you are confused, and I’d like to repeat what I posted on Facebook this morning on that subject:

Matthew 9:23-27. Mark 5:35-41. Very clearly, these say Jesus rebuked the storm. The storm was not from God because Jesus would not contradict the Father. And those of you saying those people deserved to die, Ecclesiastes 9:1-3, and Isaiah 55:8-9, Romans 11:33-36 and 12:19-21, 14:13,19. And Philippians 2:3-5. Shame on you all.

Shame on you for having the audacity to protest a funeral; for infringing on the rights of the bereaved to lay their loved ones to rest. “Jesus said, ‘Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:34. I’m not sure from what Bible you read, but mine says our God is merciful, just, graceful, kind, and loving. In my opinion, you should all be grateful and humbled by this fact, because His mercy, grace, kindness and love are all extended to you, even after your ignorant and foolish actions…

I’ve counted to three, and spoken my peace.

In other news, I was able to patch a couple of the holes in the doggie destroyed room yesterday. But I wasn’t smart enough to get the shed key off Mitch’s key ring, so still waiting on the paint… I’ll post pictures in the follow up blog section under home repairs. Also, please pray for my poor exhausted husband who has been pulling 15-18 hour shifts this week trying to get all the driving classes and certifications for the humvee and m-atv. He’s feeling the physical and mental exhaustion, and has duty this Saturday, so he won’t get the weekend to recuperate. I love you, babe, and I’m proud of you! Keep it up! In the words of Mitch, Semper alpha yut… That’s his go-to frustration phrase… which is a lot less colorful than some of the others I’ve heard some marines use… Also, my baby sister has a job interview today! Good Luck, K! We’re praying for you! My friend Julie-Ann was just hired yesterday, as well! Congratulations, and I’m so glad to have you at Lejeune with me! Prayers for my mom (and Jim) as they are traveling this week; stay safe Mama.

I think I needed that little moment of weakness earlier this week to remind me how great God truly is, and that everything happens in His time, and He will work all things for the good of those who love and serve Him. Because right now, I’m feeling the awesome power of the Almighty, and I sense that He IS working in my life, even if I can’t see or understand it right now. Perhaps He is preparing me for something greater in the future; growing me spiritually and maturing my faith in Him.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4

Ok, Lord. It’s up to you! I stand down.

One response »

  1. Eden,
    I love James. I’ve been praying for Mitch and his endurance…it did sound like he was really working a lot! One storm just passed thru 30 minutes ago…we expected it all night…and I think there are more. It did hail a bit, but no damage. I keep remembering the song, ‘Til the Storm Passes By. “Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand; Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.” …and He did. Thank you God for loving and caring for us.
    G’ma

What do you think?

