In HIS Time

Standard

“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

The husband and I went and looked at houses yesterday. Out of the top 4 we saw, we were able to narrow it down to 2 possibilities. And from those 2 last night, we got out the MLS sheets and started the “pros and cons” list. We eventually came to the conclusion that one of the 2 had far more “pros” than the other and was listed a good deal cheaper. The + place is 5 minutes from our church, 9 miles closer to Mitch’s work, has a garage, fireplace, all the kitchen appliances, is centrally located to all the major shopping, has a fenced in yard, two-year-old duct work and air conditioning system, no structural damage, doesn’t flood after rain (like most of the places we saw yesterday) and has a dog park within walking distance in a nice neighborhood. The seller is willing to cover all the closing costs and a 1 year home warranty. It is vacant so we could take possession immediately. There are possibilities for updates that would increase the resale value, and I didn’t dislike anything about it. That’s tough because I was being really super picky yesterday in that there was something I could find wrong with every place we saw, but that one. That many positives as compared to the other places seems like an obvious sign that it’s the right one, but something kept us from texting our realtor right then and telling her we had made up our minds. We are supposed to meet with her again on Tuesday to discuss our options, and I have a feeling there is something to be worked out or revealed to us between now and then. In the mean time, I have a list of things to accomplish at our current residence before we can even leave. Those things include:

  1. Finishing the patching/painting in add-on room
  2. Re-carpeting the add-on room
  3. Fill in nail holes from pictures
  4. Have carpet professionally steamed
  5. Have house fumigated
  6. Replaces drip pans on stove
  7. Clean and scour bathroom and kitchen
  8. Clean out cabinets
  9. Teach the doggies a new trick
  10. Finish putting Harry Potter books on CD onto iTunes

Now, I’m aware that some of these must be done if and before we decide to move, but after all our stuff is out of the house. I will keep you all updated on my progress. Good news- I already have the paint and extra carpet I need, so that’s a plus. Only problem- I don’t have a paint brush or roller… lame. So I’m going to continue working on what I can today and tonight I’m going to make a Wal-mart run while Mitch is at barbershop choir rehearsal. DANG IT! I just remembered we forgot to buy a newspaper yesterday… I’m going to probably just subscribe to it to save myself the trouble of being mad at myself when I forget to buy one. Phooey… Mitch even asked me last night on our way home if there was anything else we needed to do before we went home…lame. Anyway, there are progress pictures for you to look at under the page, home repairs. Right now there are just the “befores”, but I will be adding some “durings” and “afters” today. Feel free to check them out and ask me any questions or offer any advice you may have! I look forward to both.

3 responses »

  1. Eden………..I’m getting excited for you!!!!!!!!!! Will continue to pray! I think you’re doing a wonderful job. You’re very organized.
    Love, G’ma

    • Thanks Gram! It’s so wonderful to actually be able to see the Father at work! I know he’s constantly there, but there’s something extremely satisfying in knowing and seeing his plan unfold!

What do you think?

