The Garden of…Me

Standard

“She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.” Proverbs 31:16

So I have been doing some research lately and I finally decided to do it; I’m going to build an herb spiral. I decided to go with the spiral design because 1, it makes the most practical sense, and 2, it looks awesome. The design I picked has all the herbs that need the most sunlight on the top of the spiral. The second tier of the spiral has the plants that require partial shade (they get it from the plants on top) and the bottom most tier has the plants that are more floral and grow rapidly, so as not to choke out the other plants. I started the seedlings for a few of the plants indoors yesterday. The rosemary, lavender, and spearmint. I also started some Snapdragons- just the plants that need to be a little more hearty before they are transplanted outdoors.

Seedlings

The other plants I will sow as soon as it stops frosting outside. It hit about 34 degrees last night, so as soon as it is consistently in the 40s or above each night, I’ll begin construction of the actual spiral.

Front View of Herb Spiral

I’m really excited because the plants I chose for the garden are practical and will actually save me money assuming I can actually get them to grow. I chose parsley, rosemary, thyme, basil, chamomile, lavender, oregano, spearmint, dill, cilantro, strawberries, and garlic. I researched which herbs grow best in my region, and when to plant/harvest them. I also researched which herbs work best together in an herb spiral. I’ve organized them into the tiers of the spiral based on their growing needs and functions.

Spiral Top View

The more floral plants like chamomile and lavender are going around the bottom tier. The oregano and spearmint go on the bottom because they tend to want to take over, so they need to be farther spaced and have more room to flourish. The cool thing about it is that all of the plants I have chosen have specific function and purpose. I use parsley, rosemary, oregano, thyme, basil, dill, garlic and cilantro in basically all my cooking. The strawberries were mostly Mitch’s choice- he loves having fresh fruit, and berries just happen to be his favorite. Once we are in an established residence, he wants some fruit trees and blackberry, raspberry and blueberry bushes. He sort of has this dream of being able to walk around the back yard and satisfy his hunger with the things growing in it. I sort of like the idea of having all the makings for fruit salad right in my own back yard. The spearmint I will use constantly, so I guess it’s a good thing it grows fast and furiously. I planted it, the lavender, and the chamomile to use in home made teas! I was thinking of all the money I spend on herbal teas and figured if I can dry my own and fill my own sachets or tea balls, that would be awesome! Also, spearmint is supposed to be a natural rodent repellent and as it stands, I need all the repelling help I can get. I am of a very preventative mindset so setting up a natural barrier against rodents makes me happy because it will reduce the likelihood of having to set traps in the first place.

I’ve never really had my own garden before and it makes me a little nervous. I have to water, weed, and tend it in all the correct amounts in order for it to flourish. That is a little nerve wracking… It’s all up to me whether the plants live or die. Not only that, but my name is Eden… As in, the garden of… If I suck at gardening my namesake is just laughable and ironic… So the pressure is on. Hopefully I’ll have extraordinarily green thumbs and other 8 digits so it will be little to no effort on my part… However, with the soil here being predominantly sand and a little acidic, it’s going to take a little bit of forethought and effort to get things started.

Like I said, I’ve never done this before so if anyone has any brilliant gardening tips or hints I would love to be clued in. I have to say though, I loved the feeling of walking around Lowe’s with Mitch, picking out plants and such. It made me feel like we were an old married couple. I’m just corny enough to love that! 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I always loved all the fresh produce my mom planted in her garden! I even enjoyed harvesting it sometimes… I think weeding is the worst part though. I hope to have a garden sometime as well, but that part will take some motivation!

    It sounds like you have done your research! Making sure to learn what it means if the leaves turn yellow or get really dark… I know that some plants that tells you if they need water, have too much water, need light or have too much light. That should help you learn what they need to make them flourish. Best of luck to you!

  2. Eden,
    I’ll always remember your sweet face looking up at me as I was reading the story of Adam & Eve in the garden of Eden and asking, “The garden of…Me?” You’ve come a long way baby! I’m impressed with your garden plans and will pray for a harvest! Love your enthusiasm! I hope your gardening is as successful as your Dad’s & G’pa Bill.
    Love,
    G’ma

  3. This is really cool! Let me know if it works and I may try one too! I lover HERBS!!!

    I remember when you said “The Garden of ME!!!!!!” I think we have it on tape too.

    Daddy

What do you think?

