We Did It…

Standard

“She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.” Proverbs 31:18

After much deliberation and prayer (as much as you can do in 30 minutes) I started weighing the pros and cons again. I prayed and consulted my Bible. When I asked God to please give me an answer, I opened it and turned to Matthew 4 when Jesus said to Satan, “Thou shalt not put the Lord your God to the test.”  So I felt terrible, prayed and asked for God’s forgiveness and asked him to point me to a scripture that would lead me to make the right decision. I waited a bit. I pulled up information on the houses. I compared the heating, the roofs, the foundations… the foundations! Matthew 7:25, “The rain came down and the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had it’s foundation on the rock.” I looked at the houses again… The one through our realtor was built in the 1940s, therefore built on a crawlspace. Our friend’s house is built on a crawl space too… except for the addition, which was built on a slab! A rock! That’s in the literal sense. In the figurative sense, I know my friend has been praying about this situation. I know her faith in God. I know they are coming from a solid foundation in faith, as well as a solid financial situation. The house through the realtor is a short sale; meaning that they will not be able to negotiate closing costs, it has more red tape to untangle through the bank, and it’s taxes are higher. I began to pray some more. I told Mitch the situation. It feels God lead. May He forgive me if I am mistaken, but I couldn’t help thinking that he was leading us to buy our friend’s home. I got back in touch with our friend selling her house. I told her we’d go ahead and follow through with it; draw up those papers! I chose the house built upon the Rock… And I’m still extremely nervous about this decision… however, on the adjacent page was Matthew 6:25-34. God told me not to worry about it. That He has things in control… That was incredibly comforting.

I will have no way of knowing if this was the absolute best decision for us long term until it’s been a few years. And even then, God tells me not to worry about tomorrow because each day has enough worries of its own. what I do know is that it gets me out of this mouse infested money pit we are in right now, and it gets our friend’s husband back with her because he won’t have to continue staying with the house till it sells. Like I said, it feels God lead. I hope that I’m not misinterpreting that though.  God has given us this choice to make. But even if we are making the wrong one, I trust that God will make something beautiful out of our mistakes. It’s in his hands.

Thank you to all of you who are praying for us. I ask for your continued prayers as we go through this process for the first time in our lives. May God continue to lead and guide us and may we go forth with the wisdom and discernment necessary to follow His path for us.

6 responses »

  1. You are going to be homeowners! What an exciting time in your lives! Enjoy it! Good idea not to go with the short sale, those can be nightmares (ask Jim). Happy for you both, will continue to pray God’s blessing and grace for you! We are starting a sermon series called “Deep End – Take the Plunge” (go to http://www.southtelegraph.org) to listen and watch the sermon! I highly recommend. A series about water and people who stepped out in faith and took the plunge into the deep end to further their faith and walk with God. Yesterday was about Jesus walking on water, and Peter getting out of the boat, and taking a step in faith to follow Christ. Our pastor said, “if you wanna do great things in Christ, if you wanna deepen your faith and walk with God, you gotta get out of the boat! So my darlling girl, Praise God that you are “getting out of the boat” and taking the steps to put all your trust in God to lead you and strengthen your walk, your relationship with him and with Mitch! I love you baby girl!! Way to step out of the boat! ❤

    • Thanks mama. We just finished a series called Into the Deep! LOL! it was the same basic thing. More about how to let God change the things we have no power to change in our lives and live in a deeper relationship with God

  2. Eden and Mitch…so happy for you. You’ll never forget that first home…no matter what’s wrong with it. Eden if you remember our first in Sulivan…we bought low and your grandpa and I roofed, took up carpets, gutted a bathroom, painted, and I had siding and windows done in it. bought for 46K…sold for 68K… The Lord blessed us…

    Daddy

What do you think?

