Wanted: Naptime ranging from 20 minutes to 2 hours.

Standard

“She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.” Proverbs 31:26

***Warning- graphic accounts of pet messes in the post to follow.***

Oh. My. Goodness….

What a morning/afternoon. I didn’t even hear my husband leave for work this morning- that’s how early it was. I woke up at 5:00 to go to the bathroom and he was already gone. I settled in for another hopeful 2 hours of sleep… It didn’t happen. I woke to the smell of…well, there’s no delicate way to say this… dog diarrhea… I didn’t have to see it to know it was bad… I could smell it. That was enough… If you’ll recall, my youngest border decided to pee all over everything last Friday… This time it was the oldest one, Anna. Poor girl just sat there quietly surrounded by a blow-out poo… I mean, it was literally all on the wall, in her fur, on her cushion, on her blankie, EVERYWHERE! I sighed and let her outside while I gathered the soiled bed cushion and just stuck it outside on the porch; I didn’t feel like dealing with that yet… Then I went outside with Anna… It was honestly 20 minutes… I don’t know what caused it, but I was certainly glad we were outside. I cloroxed the crate, and walls… And I took Anna to the bathroom to get the poo out of her tail fur. Other than her tail, she wasn’t messy. I was thankful for that.

Anyway, after everything was all clean, I went back to bed for a bit and Anna fell fast asleep. She didn’t even wake when I got up to eat breakfast. Cyd didn’t really know what was going on. She sort of did her own thing all morning.

I spent the rest of the morning/afternoon reading Not A Fan* and calling carpet cleaning services for estimates. Then it happened again. Anna asked to go outside to potty… Success! We made it outside without indoor accident! Alas, it was pretty windy outside, and Anna chose to squat down wind… I don’t think I need to say any more to paint that picture of delight for you… it was EVERYWHERE!!!!!! I took her inside to the bathroom and gave her a bath. Only I couldn’t find any dog shampoo so she got the royal treatment with Head and Shoulders. She smells awesome now, which I can say, is a gargantuan improvement from before the bath…

Anyway, I was upset about the fact that my doggie is sick and I don’t know why. I was also upset by the fact that I must have receipts for professional carpet cleaning, professional flea spray, and pest control for roaches… Where was all of that when we moved in to this mouse infested roach motel? I had to set my own mouse traps, clean my own carpet, and get roach traps, and bug bomb while we were back home for Christmas… Ok, ok, it wasn’t as bad as I make it out to be… In all honesty, I was super proud of my husband’s decision on this house, because I was back in Illinois unable to see anything in person. That being said, I am ready to move. Except that I’m not ready to move… Nothing is packed, there are piles of laundry (mostly mine) and shoes (my husband’s) everywhere, and I am trying to schedule everything in such a way that we are able to make a smooth transition from one house to the other… Ugh… I’m just feeling like there’s a lot to be done and I can’t focus on that while I’m cleaning up after my doggies. Kudos to single moms everywhere. And single mother or otherwise, be thankful for any and all help you receive! It’s definitely a blessing to have friends and family close by, and I miss that a lot. (Not forgetting you, all my NC friends, just saying, I miss the Illinois peeps too) I know I am fully capable. The last time I packed stuff up, my husband was states away, so I’m glad he gets to experience the chaos with me this time. I have a month from today. Ready, set, GO!

I’m just not looking forward to having to pay for all this stuff that I could do myself… I’m trying to be patient with the whole process though. And thank the Lord, all the new house related transitions are going more smoothly than the rental place ones… I just feel like I need a big nap. And that is pretty sad considering my husband is the one who has spent all day in class and has been awake since before 5:00 AM… Here’s to a hopefully more relaxing evening than morning.

*Not a Fan is filled with gut wrenching truth about our tendency to turn into “enthusiastic admirers” of Jesus Christ, rather than true followers. I highly recommend it. I’m learning a lot about myself and God, and preparing to make the necessary changes in my life to be a follower and not just an enthusiastic admirer.

7 responses »

  1. Hon…it smells even better coming from your own kid…trust me…gag!!!

    I have that book too…have to get started on it…sounds like Torch Church! We are intentional in everything we do there. It’s not just going to happen by accident…I love it!!!

    Daddy

  2. Eden,
    So sorry Anna’s not feeling well…and sorry for you also. So glad you and Brett got your books. Wish I was reading it again along with you & Brett. I may skim it, cause I underlined a lot. Wish we could help you pack and move…but will be praying for you. You are so organized and such a determined “woman”…I’m sure you will be fine.
    Love you,
    G’ma

  3. I know exactly what you mean, got a boxer puppy that did the same thing, least it was in the kitchen. it is worse that baby poop. See, my two boys left for the Marines and I got a . Please thank your husband for his service

    • I most certainly will. Not many people understand the sacrifices our men in uniform make, save for the wives and mothers. Thank you for your support as well as for your sons’ service to our country.

  4. Ok, I jinxed myself last night. This morning I was rudely and loudly awoken by my husband who proclaimed (loudly) that the dog had crapped and peed (in three spots) in the hallway. Not stinky, not necessarily mushy, just a rude wake up for me to clean up when I’m NOT a morning person. Poor doggie, he’s never had a night accident in the 7 years I’ve had him.

What do you think?

