Weekend Warrior

Standard

“She sees that her trading is profitable, her lamp does not go out at night.” Proverbs 31:18

Ok couple things…

First things first. To the Sgt who made my husband’s unit run between 13 and 17 miles unannounced with no prior preparation or hydration, you’re an idiot sir. I’m not sure what you’re trying to prove, but running a half marathon without proper hydration, nutrition or gear is just asinine. You wonder why all the unit had to go to medical? That makes you an even bigger idiot. Thanks to you, my husband’s knee has been destroyed and he’s been having to ice, pop anti-inflammatory pills like candy, and he’s still limping everywhere. Destroying the physical health of your Marines doesn’t make them stronger, it makes them injured. And the fact that they will have to continue to run on injuries is only going to make it worse. You’re a moron if you think that kind of run benefits those men in any way. Endurance? that’s great, I’m all for it. But one 13 mile run for PT when they rarely do more than 3-5 miles any other time they PT isn’t going to achieve that. Stamina? Again, all for it. But you don’t magically attain those things. They are built over time, by progressive training… not asinine 2-3 hour runs… Now we can’t go play tennis or do anything else fun because his knee makes grinding sounds and he grimaces every time he moves it!!!

Second, I baked an absurd amount of cookies yesterday. Not because I intended to, but simply because I hate adjusting recipes. I had planned to amend the cookie situation by having people over, but everyone was busy last night so oh well…

Third, dinner was outstanding! I have to give myself props for attempting and succeeding this time. Home made mozzarella sticks actually turned out right this time because I adjusted the temp/baking time. And the chicken was delicious. The only flaw was that the timing didn’t quite work out with Mitch’s last-minute quartet rehearsal. But, like I’ve said before, I’d rather have a Luke-warm, microwaved meal with him than a piping hot, fresh from the stove meal without him.

We have been emailed the contract for our new house (YAY!!!!!) so we’ve been reading that and our Realtor offered to look it over and walk us through the legal jargon since we are first time buyers (pretty cool since it wasn’t even her listing, and we aren’t buying through agents) so soon as she gets back to me on that, we’ll be initialing, and signing our lives away (can’t be as bad as the last time that happened… That’s what got us in NC in the first place) Anyway, I’m really excited, especially since I counted 5 mice yesterday. There might have been 6, it was hard to tell… but I am for real sick of setting traps and battling for use of my kitchen.

Still got some touch-ups to do to the room I’ve been working on but it’s coming along nicely. Only trouble, I think I mis-guessed the sheen of the paint when we were matching paint colors at Lowe’s last weekend. I went with flat and I think it’s actually eggshell, but you really can’t tell unless you’re hard-core looking at it from a certain angle in direct sunlight… So I’m not worried about it. I’m going to start all the packing and such next week while Mitch is in the field. I hate spending my time cleaning and stuff when he is home, since it’s such a rarity. Plus it’s a lot easier to focus on what needs to be done when I don’t have to work around all the gear and dirty boot socks… (Love you, babe)

So I’ve got some projects to work on this weekend and I’ll blog some more about them later.

Happy Saturday, Readers!

5 responses »

What do you think?

