This and That

Standard

Good afternoon blogging community! It’s been a while, I know… and for that I apologize.

I’ve been diving in to getting dishes washed, and laundry done, and things packed. If it weren’t for my friend Kara coming over this afternoon, I wouldn’t have gotten much of the packing done at all. In fact, I hadn’t done any of it at that point. Thanks to her though, I have all of one bookshelf packed, the vast majority of another, and a couple of boxes of, “Are you crazy? It’s seventy-five degrees outside, there’s no way I’m wearing that” clothes.

On to the next thing… Finally got the minor details of housing swap under control. Cleanings and sprays are scheduled without conflict, inspection by rental company scheduled, and inspection by base housing people scheduled. Tomorrow we’re actually planning on helping some friends move in to their new home, so it’s like a giant move-out/in party in my neighborhood now (by neighborhood, I mean basically our specific group of friends, because none of us live near each other).

Also, I have a couple new recipes for you, both of which I made for the first time today! Click here for Key Lime Pie, and Minestrone

In other news, I have been kicking up my running. I’m now back to being able to run an 8 minute mile. However, I am purposely scaling back to 10 minute miles to prevent injury. I’ve been running every other morning and doing yoga on the non-running days. Add in some boxing on the weekends, and I have to say I’m pretty proud of myself. Of course, new running gear and shoes always help to boost my motivation to work out. The nice Spring weather is a contributing factor to my fitness gusto as well.  I’ve also been eating healthier this week, although that may be due to my eating habits while my husband is away; we like to order pizza on the weekends he’s home, but I tend to stick more to veggies when he’s not around to make “yuckie face” at them 🙂 He’s just going to have to learn that if he wants to keep that 29 inch waist into his 30s he’s going to have to eat more veggies.

The Irish Mothers and Sweethearts show is next weekend. I look forward to stepping foot on a stage again, even if it is only for the duration of one song. It’s been difficult to get used to not doing shows every two months, so this show is a welcome event.

In the more spiritual realm of my life, I’ve finished reading Kyle Idleman’s Not a Fan. You can’t read that book cover to cover and not analyze your relationship with the Lord. And if you can, you probably have bigger problems than that book. I strongly recommend it. I feel it is a book that is meant to be read, re-read and even discussed with other Christians. That’s the only way to really grow as a follower. You need to make yourself accountable. I feel that this blog does that for me in large part. I’ve started reading Christianity’s Family Tree, and I’ve learned a lot. The first chapter was on Christian Orthodoxy, and I’ve just begun chapter two, on Catholicism. I think we all stand to gain a lot simply by learning about and understanding the differences in beliefs  held by ourselves and others. It’s interesting to see where and how the different denominations split off after the death and resurrection of Christ, and the Church founded by the earliest Christians. As Easter draws closer, I’m filled with sorrow at the death of my savior; that undeserving as I am of his salvation, he still extends it to me. But I’m also filled with joy, because our God didn’t end our story at the cross. Even from the beginning, (Genesis 3:15) God knew what it would take to set us right with His holiness. He says, “And I will cause hostility between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring. He will strike your head, and you will strike his heel.” That specific scripture was a part of my devotional this morning. It went on to say that In saying this to the serpent, (Satan) God was talking about the demonic forces of evil when he spoke of the serpent’s offspring, and he was speaking of Jesus when he spoke of the woman’s offspring. It pointed out the difference in the battle between the two: the serpent will strike the Son of Man’s heel, but the Son will strike the serpent’s head. This led me to the thought, Jesus may have been injured, but it wasn’t for good. It was a strike to his heel, not a devastating blow to the head like that which the serpent received. Our God had planned our salvation from the beginning. Not 10 verses from the time the woman first ate of the forbidden fruit, God was already working out their punishment, but also their salvation. Then in verse 21, it says that “the Lord God made clothing out of animal skins” for both the man and woman. Even after their deliberate disobedience, God was STILL providing for them and caring for them. If that’s not a sobering depiction of God’s love and mercy, I don’t know what is.

Those are my thoughts for today. Keep checking back for the links to the new recipes, they should be up within the next day or so, as my schedule allows.

One response »

  1. Eden,
    Wondered what happened to you! Missed your blog. Glad you got a lot done. I’m glad you enjoyed “Not a Fan”. I’m on chapter 4…reading along with Bill & your Dad. Glad you’re studying religions…we have a chart that you might like…I think G’pa can send it as an attachment by e-mail.
    The key lime pie sounds good.
    Love you,
    G’ma

What do you think?

