HIS Hands and Feet

Standard

“She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.” Proverbs 31:20

It’s been on my heart recently to be more actively involved in my faith than simply going to church on Sundays, and throwing my offering in the plate and calling it “faithful following.” Don’t get me wrong, regular church attendance is wonderful and so is tithing, but I desperately want to take my faith further from just believing to doing. So I decided to take action. There are two members of my church family that I know of who have been diagnosed with MS (Multiple Sclerosis). One woman is a pastor of the church, and the other woman is a devoted member of the church and military spouse. Having met and spoken to each of these women, I am amazed at the way God is working in their lives, and in the church through them. In their honor, I (and hopefully Mitch, if he isn’t on duty or in the field) will be participating in the annual 2012 Walk MS: Wilmington, NC. I am participating in honor of the two women in our church, as a part of the Military Spouse group from Trinity United Methodist Church. We have decided to use our hands and feet (mostly feet in the case of the 5k walk) to become “hands and feet” in the bigger concept of the body of Christ. (1 Corinthians 27:31)

I realized this morning as I was completing my registration that I have the power, through this blog, to reach out to all of you and gain your help in the fight against MS. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the disease, please click here to learn about MS and its effects.

I just ask that you take a spin past my team’s website, located here. Please, read a little bit about our team. From that site, you can join our team for the walk on April 21, 2012 in Wilmington, NC. You do not have to be present at the walk to make a donation to sponsor our team. Our goal is to raise $500 for the research and study to combat this destructive disease. So far, we are at a whopping $70 for our team, 14% of our goal. If you’re looking for a cause for which to be passionate, look in to this one. Your donations make a difference, regardless of their size. Seriously, even giving $1 to our team is giving $1 dollar to show those women of Trinity and people all over the world affected by MS that you’re aware of their struggle, and that you care and want to help. Another alternative would be to take a weeks offering that you would have given to the church and give it to this cause. Call it designated offering, if you will. 🙂

I thank all who do choose to support my husband and I, and more importantly, the rest of our team and the National MS Society in general. Please consider using your hands and feet to be a part of the bigger body of Christ.

One response »

  1. Eden,
    I love your compassionate heart. I want to be a part of your team’s effort. I am sending a check to help you reach your goal. God will bless your efforts!
    Love,
    G’ma

What do you think?

