Moving Day Approaches

Standard

“She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” Proverbs 31:17

I’ve never been good at moving… Which should be a surprise seeing as how I’ve done it over 10 times… I hate it. There is nothing more annoying to me than having to box up all my junk and take it to a new location, only to have to unbox it, and re-box it the next time I have to move… Hopefully, God will allow us to stay put for the next 3-5 years.

The most difficult part of packing is deciding what to keep, and what to get rid of. I hate throwing things out. Having been a theatre major, I learned that there is almost nothing that can’t be repurposed and used on stage. That being said, I’ve become a bit of a pack rat. Not only that, but I’m far too nice. Most wives I have talked to wait for their husbands to be gone, then go through all their junk and throw out the “unnecessary items.” I can’t do that to Mitch. I’ve tried, and it just doesn’t work. The man has 2 25″x17″x15″ Rubbermaid tubs full of his shoes!!! Tell me that isn’t outrageous- him having more shoes than his wife! But like I said, we don’t have a lot of things that I would necessarily deem impractical, so I’m having a hard time getting rid of anything.

I decided to make a general rule: If I haven’t worn it in the past year, I’m probably not going to. So that’s my guideline for getting rid of things. But again, that’s hard on Mitch’s end, because he was in training 85% of last year, so he only wore camis and what civilian attire he had with him, maybe like 2 outfits. So I’ve got 1 mid-sized box full of “Take-to-Goodwill” items, mostly all of which are mine.

Another problem I face is that we don’t get to put life on pause while we move. Mitch still has to work, and thus make dirty laundry… Take one step forward, move ten steps back is sort of my feeling of the day. We had company last night, and seriously had a blast. We cooked out, and played Yahtzee. But now I have dishes out the wazoo, and I’ve just spent the past 45 minutes vacuuming the carpet and eliminating pet stains. (Oh, by the way, Anna is in trouble because she went and squatted on carpet I had literally just cleaned. Apparently, I removed a marking… whatever.)

I only have until next Thursday to get everything packed up. Then it’s moving stuff, mostly on my own Thursday and Friday until Mitch gets off work and can load up the furniture and such. Should be interesting seeing as how I’ve had to specially schedule carpet cleanings, and flea and pest sprayings and multiple inspections… UGH! I don’t like feeling rushed, and I don’t like having to work around that many differing schedules. But at this point I don’t have a choice. The good news is that the “doggie destroyed room” is 100% finished, so that’s 1 less thing I have to complete. I suppose the easiest would be to start with the winter things and clothing that are already in space bags in the closet- just throw it in boxes and call it done.

I feel I’ve spent enough time NOT doing anything “productive,” but I will say that taking a break to blog has helped to clear my head, and now I can focus… just as soon as I have some lunch.

Anyone have any tips for efficient packing/moving? I’d love to be clued in!

 

4 responses »

  1. Eden…There are happy moves…like a new house, and unhappy moves like loss of a job or divorce. I’ve had them all I suppose. It’s easier usually, the younger you are because you’ve accumulated a lot less junk! You’re a pack rat after ME…the original SAVER. Glad to hear it’s all coming together for you honey…

    Love you, Daddy

  2. The last time my husband and I moved, I took a bit of extra time and put two different labels on every box. the first one, was a brief description of the contents of the box, the second was what room in the new place the box needed to go.

    I’m with you though, I hate packing and the moving process. It always seems like there just isn’t enough time for it because a lot of your things you can’t just leave in the boxes. I did find that this system helped though, just for the simple fact it made things so easy to find if you needed something that was already packed.

    Good Luck!

What do you think?

