Proximity to God

Standard

“For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

There is a lot of God’s word that I have read months and months ago that is just now becoming relevant to me. I never realized how lucky I am that I have been able to run to God in my weakness. I was talking to my friend, Sarah, via Facebook chat today, and she said, “I don’t know how people make it through life without having God.”

I replied, “It’s impossible. I’ve tried it the other way and it sucked! I’d rather humble myself in weakness and rely on his strength to succeed than depend on myself to have it all together and fail.”

I was browsing the internet for blogs that I might find inspirational or encouraging. I came across one such blog entitled, Happiness Redefined.I originally read it because the link to it was entitled Diary of a Devil Dog Wife, and I figured, “Hey, here’s another military spouse blogger trying to make it on God’s path just like me.” And as I read her posts, and then her “Our Story” section, my heart broke. I was brought to tears by her situation, and I wished that I could hug her, honestly, as weird as that  sounds.

I know now how lucky I am; how blessed I am to have the love and support of family, church family, and friends, and most importantly, Almighty God. There is no way I could have been the strong, and independent woman who Mitch needed and still needs me to be if I did not have the strength and courage from God to press on and do what has to be done. I commented on one of her blog posts and referenced Jeremiah 29:11-13. It’s been a major source of strength and comfort knowing that even when I feel out of control, God is holding me securely in his hands and taking care of me. It really opens my eyes to see his plan for me when I seek him. That brings me back to Psalm 36:9, “…in your light, we see light…” Only when we draw near to God do we experience all the peace and blessings he has to offer. It’s in my moments of weakness that I feel God’s strength the most.

It’s always been obvious to me to turn to God when I’m in pain or stuck under the weight of anxiety. How does it NOT make sense to run to the One who can take it all away and give you a “peace that passes understanding?” But it’s not like that for everyone. People can’t always see the Light of God’s strength and sometimes, they need simply for someone to reach out to them in love and show them the way. I’m going to be praying for this woman and her family, and hope that God stitches it all back together again. Sometimes in your greatest struggles, it’s nice to know that someone cares enough about you and what you’re going through to pray for you. So that’s what I’m going to do.

Anyway, that’s my tidbit of insight for today. I’d be honored if you shared with me your testimonies of faith and strength in the Lord. Email them to me at edee91@hotmail.com and I will feature them all in a blog post next week.

One response »

  1. I was reading Proverbs 16:20-25 (one of Katherine Odom’s favorite scriptures) one day and then I read your blog. She was definitely one of my strongest role models; and a Proverbs 31 woman. She and Paul came to PCC (I’m sure they were sent by God.) at a vulnerable time in my & Bill’s life, our early teen’s. I’m thankful you rely on God and find strength and insight in his Word. I was reading a “Got questions.org” on “Why did Jesus teach in Parables?” and realized that you are one of the ones who have a hunger for the things of God…and I quote…”To those with a genuine hunger for God, the parable is both an effective and memorable vehicle for the conveyance of divine truths. Our Lord’s parables contain great volumes of truth in very few words—and His parables, rich in imagery, are not easily forgotten. So, then, the parable is a blessing to those with willing ears. But to those with dull hearts and ears that are slow to hear, the parable is also an instrument of both judgment and mercy.” May God continue to bless you is my prayer. “Grandma”

What do you think?

