A Royal Wedding

Standard

“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.” Proverbs 31:10

I had planned on doing a marriage post all weekend but now it sort of has a new twist since my mother got engaged. Congratulations, and I wish you the best, Ma.

I’m still going to write about marriage today.

I am in the habit of buying the Sunday paper each week, mostly for its coupons since the written news is basically obsolete as soon as it’s printed, but I’m old-fashioned and enjoy reading my Sunday news just the same. Well, the latest news here in North Carolina is still centered around the passing of the law that bans same-sex marriage in the state. I couldn’t even recount to you the number of letters to the editor that stated how, “Christians use the Bible as an excuse to discriminate and hate homosexuals…” or “No truly religious person should ever endorse an act that would deny the human right to select a person as a life partner without enjoined benefits, regardless of gender,” and “No truly religious person should ever endorse discrimination…To do so is definitely being judgemental and that runs counter to the religious teaching.” My personal favorite line from that specific letter to the editor, entitled ‘Maybe a new definition of freedom in order’ is this:

 “The same book that tells one not to do these things [be judgmental] also provides a reprieve for those who do. ‘Forgive them, Father, for they know not what they do.’ Do we need a new definition of hypocrites? Definitely not; however, we do need a new definition for freedom.”- Huey J. Gaines, Hubert, NC

I’m sorry, Huey, but you couldn’t be more wrong if you tried… But what upset me more than Huey’s letter was the fact that it’s “counter letter” to the editor made the Christian viewpoint look ignorant! Come on, people, if you’re going to be passionate about your faith and your beliefs, you need to be able to defend it in a way that is solid and factual, not wishy-washy and confusing. As I’ve said before, our biggest downfall in the field of apologetics is not knowing why we believe the things we do. So, I thought I’d do my best in this post to stamp out the ignorance.

I came up with the following illustration this weekend as I was wandering around Sears.

This …..

Kate’s engagement ring

is the engagement ring of Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, given to her by her husband, Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. The ring belonged to William’s mother, Diana, Princess of Wales. It is an 18-carat white gold ring with a 12-carat oval sapphire and 14 round diamonds. At the time Diana wore it in 1981, it was valued at £30,000, or $47,365.65. Needless to say, it is very valuable and highly prized not only because of its monetary worth, but because it is a royal family heirloom.

This…

is a Sears knock-off of Kate’s sapphire engagement ring. It is “lab created blue and white sapphire ring in sterling silver. It is currently priced at $124.99 (£79.16) per ring” and comes in ladies’ sizes 5-9. And if you order it online at Sears.com, you save 50% and get free shipping!

Marriage in its Biblical sense is a lot like Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge’s ring; it is a priceless gift, handed down to us from our Heavenly Father to his chosen people. It is Holy. It is Sanctified. It is righteous, and it is an illustration of Christ’s love for the church.

Same-sex marriage and civil unions are a lot like the Sears knock-off ring… It’s around because people want something that looks like the real thing, but when you get right down to it, there is not the same intrinsic value. It is existential, it is self-satisfying, it is worldly, it is not sanctified by God, it is forbidden in scripture (Not just Genesis, Leviticus or Deuteronomy like most non-believers seem to think when they try to “prove our hypocrisy,” and in-so-doing merely prove their ignorance.) Above all, it is not sanctified by God. It is therefore not and can not be Holy matrimony.

Let’s talk about my marriage for a moment. I was not married in a church. My husband and I were wedded in the basement of the county courthouse by a justice of the peace. The lighting was poor, there were paper signs concerning wanted criminals and various fines posted around the room. I was not wearing a designer dress, but a cotton, jersey-knit top and skirt which belonged to my mother-in-law. I honestly couldn’t tell you what the judge said during the ceremony because it was so brief, I had no chance to take it in. The only pictures we have were taken in my in-law’s living room, by my mother, mother-in-law, and grandfather. There is not a single photograph in which we don’t have crazy red-eye, or someone’s head or arm cut off in the shot. And none of us were ever looking at the same camera. My wedding, as unglamorous and untraditional as it was, was still based on a mutual love of Christ and his teachings. My marriage was and still is worshipful, and my goal is to make it a perfect illustration of Christ’s love of the church. You see, it’s not the legal documentation that defines my marriage, nor is it the tax breaks, or the health insurance benefits that define it. What gives my marriage its meaning, its definition, its worth is its foundation built upon Almighty God, the root and cornerstone of our relationship.

I realize that I may not reach more than 15 consistent blog followers with my message, but that’s okay. My goal is not to change the world, or even the hearts of the wicked, but to light a spark within the hearts of other married (and single) Christians to take a stand for their marriages’ Biblical value and sanctity, that we might be the light of the world that God calls each of us to be.

What do you think?

