“..The two will become one…”

Standard
“..The two will become one…”

“So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.” Matt. 19:6

Our honeymoon in NYC

I’ve been reading through Matthew again, and I’ve spent the past 5 days just working through this one passage in Matthew. In this specific passage, Jesus is discussing marriage with some Pharisees:

[4]”Haven’t you read,’ he replied, ‘that at the beginning the Creator made them male and female,[5] and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? [6] So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore, what God joined together, let man not separate.”

This never made more sense than when I read it from the perspective of a wife waiting for her husband’s safe return. NO WONDER it hurts so much when he is away! We are of one spirit! Our collective heart is stretched over 2,537 miles, 1 day and 16 hours road trip, and 2 hours time difference!

But on a more serious note, It really got me doing some philosophical thinking. In essence, “man” is technically causing my husband and I to be separated in the physical sense. We have little and sparatic communication, and virtually no telephone calls. And for a split second, I resented my husband’s job. It just isn’t right for a husband and wife to spend so much time apart!

But as I pondered the deeper meaning of Jesus’ words, I realized what he meant was that marriage is a sacred and holy union. And it was established from the beginning by God, creator of heaven and earth! Over and over again throughout Genesis, we see a pattern of God creating, and looking at his creation, and saying “it is good.” But look in Genesis 2:18- God says for the first time that “it is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

We aren’t supposed to be apart! We aren’t supposed to be alone. But take this one step further, and look at what God used to create Eve; He took Adam’s rib- close to his heart, protected by his arm. Not a bone from his foot, symbolizing his dominance over Eve. Not a piece of bone from his skull symbolizing Eve’s superiority to Adam. He took a bone from his side, to symbolize her roll of “helper,” of friend and supporter. This should cause women to feel honored, and humbled- that they were created because God knew from the beginning that it wasn’t right for Adam to have to try to make it through life on his own; that our husbands need us!

We as women should strive to be better than Eve! Not looking to strip the reigns of Godly leadership from our husbands, but standing by them in good times and in bad, supporting their decisions, and respecting their various obligations, trusting God to lead us through our husbands.

And I came to the conclusion that my role right now as the wife of a marine is to be played with the utmost reverence, respect, and honor of his obligation and duty of service to our country, both at home and abroad. I realized that the separation was much harder on my husband, as he was far from anything comforting or familliar. The best thing I can do for my husband, miles apart though we may be, is let him know that I’m still “on his side.” I must let him know that despite the distance, I vow to remain faithful and upright, serving him and God, because I know that being “submissive” doesn’t mean that I’m inferior; it means that I willingly sacrifice my right to be right, because I trust that Jesus was right when he spoke to the Pharisees as recorded in the book of Matthew, and that he still is right today.

What do you think?

