Only the Foolish…

Standard

“A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.” Proverbs 29:11

This scripture couldn’t have hit me at a more appropriate time… As I mentioned back in April, my husband and I decided to purchase our first home… We were supposed to close at the end of April… It is now toward the middle of June and things still keep “popping up” to be fixed, or signed, or negotiated or whatever. The point being, my patience with the situation was wearing thin… Until I read my devotion on wisdom this morning… There were about 12 different designated readings from Proverbs and Ecclesiastes but none struck me so hard as Proverbs 29:11

I thought back to all the conversations I’ve had that started out, “I’m sorry, but I just have to vent…” and I was kind of insulted and embarrassed at myself… The Bible directly called me out for being foolish! …ouch… But it’s true. “The words of a man’s mouth are deep waters, but the fountain of wisdom is a bubbling brook.” [Prov. 18:4]  My mouth is my own worst enemy. It goes spewing off without regard to my pursuit of wisdom and patience. Not to mention the many people it could hurt in a matter of seconds simply because I can’t control it… “If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.” [James 1:26]

The problem is that I CAN’T control it; only God can. Which means I have to be consistently prayerful and mindful of my faults, asking God to take over ever area of my life.

You know, the Bible speaks truths that I have read over and over, and yet there are still some that have not managed to penetrate my hardened heart until now. This both awes and intrigues me- think of all the spiritual truths that I have yet to uncover; think of the place I was before I began to seek God’s guidance through his word… I’ve come a long way, yet still have so far to go… I’ll never be finished learning- ever. That’s a profound thought. God is teaching me and helping me to grow spiritually every day and will continue to do so throughout my entire life if I only let Him.

Anyway, that’s my bit of gained wisdom for the day.

God, I pray that you continue to enlighten me with your word. “Search me, o God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me in the way everlasting.” [Psalm 139:23-24] Amen.

One response »

What do you think?

