To Be Still and Know

Standard

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

Have you ever been in a situation that catches you off guard and just completely stresses you out? Take my dog, Cyd for example… We had scheduled repairmen to come and do some last minute things to the house so that we can close on it, and she was completely unaware, so when the guys got to the house and started hammering shingles, and scraping the window sills, she freaked out a little and was sprinting around the house barking like a maniac. There was nothing she could do to change the situation or make it stop, but she was freaked out none the less, because she didn’t understand what was happening or see it coming.

Well, that happens to me on a semi-regular basis. I get hit in the face by an unexpected curveball, and I run around the house trying to figure out how to “fix” the issue without stopping to realize that God is in control from the beginning. It’s not my job to solve every  problem. If it were, I would be God… and we all know via “Bruce Almighty” that man in God’s role doesn’t work out so well…

Anyway, I suppose what I’m getting at is that when those times in our lives inevitably come up, we have to remember to sit down, take a deep breath and let God work it out. You’ve heard the expression, “Pray hardest when it’s hardest to pray…” ? Well that’s some advice I’ll definitely be heeding. There are so many instances of potential stress in my life; applying/registering for classes this fall, doing the ETTP to be able to substitute teach, Mitch’s numerous field ops leading up to Japan, various family situations… What it all boils down to is not whether or not I can handle all of those obstacles, but whether or not I will pray without ceasing and trust God to show me the paths I should take, and lead me where I should go. Then the potential stress turns in to zero stress. And I think we could all use less stress in our lives, am I right?

There are so many things that I would not plan for myself that God may have planned for me. The truth is, I don’t know what lies ahead. It might seem scary, it might be exciting, it might be unnerving, but as long as I trust that God knows what he’s doing (and that’s kind of an intrinsic property of having faith in God, or even acknowledging God to be God) then I know that everything will be okay.

“For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord. ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you; plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

One response »

  1. Eden, this is what our lastest sermon series was based on “Curveball – When Life Throws You the Unexpected” Jeremiah 29:11 (we have that on an index card hanging on the refridgerator) Check out this site, http://www.ssouthtelegraph.org Listen to the series..Good stuff! (our minister use to preach at Savannah Christian Church) Cool huh??

What do you think?

