Good Day!

Standard

Greetings, sports fans!

Today has been just an all around good day.

I spent the morning (early morning) reading and watching the news, sipping my morning smoothie -I think I may be allergic to honey- and planning the rest of my day. Then I met my new friend, Suzanne, at the fitness center for a work-out and we broke a sweat on the elliptical machines. Having gone all out yesterday with my new medicine ball and resistance loops, I took it easy on my knees and decided to save running for another day. Anyway, we went to lunch after our work out and talked for a few hours, and I was pleased to find that  I now know a woman who is like-minded as me in practically every area of discussion. God truly blesses me with the people he brings in to my life. After that, I made a quick trip to Barnes and Noble Booksellers where I picked up a copy of Night Light by Dr. James & Shirley Dobson. The Christian radio station back home used to have segments in which Dr. Dobson would be interviewed on various subjects. Having heard him speak on the topic of marriage and specifically his marriage to Shirley, centered on Christ, I was drawn to the book. Seeing as I’ve been wanting to start a couples’ small group study for a while now, and I think I’ve finally found the right devotional to get it started. So that made my day considerably brighter as well as the rare and treasured girl-time. Then I made my way to Sam’s Club to curb my husband’s root-beer fix to find that the mattress we had been eyeballing in Sears last weekend was about $400 cheaper there! WHO KNEW RIGHT!? That is definitely a purchase that will be made in the near-ish future.

I got home, unloaded the groceries, and noticed that it is Taco Tuesday on my menu board! YAY! Then my husband got home from work before 3:00! I think today is the day of blessings. I honestly don’t think there is anything that could get me down today, and I think that makes today appropriate for my first real post after my vacation.

I have a lot of aspirations this coming school year.

1.) I plan on substitute teaching for the first time in my life… I know I’m underestimating its difficulty, but who knows.

2.) In the spring, I’ll be starting back to school at UNC-W for my bachelor’s degree! Woot! It’s more competitive in the spring, but since the school requires at least a 3.0 gpa with 50+ credits, and I have a 3.36 and 70+ credits, I think I’ll be just fine.

3.) Silently Struggling is still in the works. For those of you who don’t yet know of this endeavor, please visit my other blog by clicking the link. Planning and making connections to get the details in order for next June.

4.) Small group devotional at my house… I’m trying to think of a clever name for it… but I’m all out of cleverness… Basically, I’ve got it in mind to be a married couple’s bible study with dessert and drinks, or perhaps potluck dinners once a week or once every other week.

6.) All the usual commitments to church choir and hand bell choir also resume in August, and I look forward to serving my congregation through music 🙂 Because it’s what I do best.

So I’ll be keeping you all updated on all of these various projects and goals and looking forward to your support and encouragement as well as any advice you may have. I thank God every day that I’m able to reach at least one person through this blog and I’m continually thankful to all of you readers who keep me accountable and progressive in all of my aspirations.

*Is it common for food allergies to make one’s face/neck itchy/bumpy like sand paper? Because I can’t think of anything unusual in my diet, except that I’ve started using honey as a sweetener in my tea and smoothies instead of sugar, and about the time of the switch, the itchies came… just curious… I may lay off it for a few days and see what happens.

One response »

  1. Eden,
    I think Honey is supposed to help you with allergies you encounter…but it must be Honey made in the area you live…thus the bees make Honey from the plants in your area and it helps your immune system with allergies you might have to those plants. At least that’s what Johnny Smith always told us. He had bee hives. I heard a catchy name for a group…”Pairs ‘n Spares”. Don’t know what you’re looking for, but I just remembered that one. Love hearing about your plans, hopes & dreams! Love, G’ma

What do you think?

