In His Time

Standard

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.” Psalm 62:5

I’ve been exploring God’s timing recently. Let me tell you, for someone like me who likes to know the who, what, when, where, and why of everything, it’s been a challenge to let go of that mentality of what am I going to DO, and grabbing on to the concept of trusting that when God is ready and when he sees that I am ready, ____________ will happen.

I always use words like, “funny,” “ironic,” or “interesting” when I see two pieces of God’s puzzle come together, when it’s not happenstance or chance at all, but rather the fate that God has designed according to his meticulous and masterful plan. So instead, I’ll say it was masterful, in speaking to my father this morning, how he also brought up the subject of God’s perfect timing in the midst of my embracing it, over my timing. Without going in to too much unnecessary detail, Dad is coming to realize that there are things out in this world that may have been right under our noses for years and years, yet we simply never encountered them until God was ready for us to do so; until God knew we were ready to do so.

I believe my struggles to rest in not knowing and having patience and contentment in every situation is directly related to my inability to relax and be comforted in the knowledge that God already knows exactly what I need out of life, and when I will need it. I also believe that God has put people in my life to help drive that point home. A corny way I’ve thought of putting my new-found wisdom is this: It’s not about keeping up with the Jones-es, it’s about keeping up in my relationship with God; constantly seeking His presence and wisdom through His word, and through prayer. THAT is the only thing that is able to satisfy my anxious heart and give rest to my spirit.

The truth is, we make mistakes that sometimes lead to bigger mistakes or disappointments, or heartache, or despair. But God is always present and active in the lives of His children and we need only seek his guidance and presence for them to be found. Every day (now that I look back on the past month, or week) I can see a pattern of God presenting me with situations in which I have a choice in how to react, specifically in reference to His timing and my journey toward a peaceful, gentle, and contented spirit. And every day this week, I have met each instance differently, and inconsistently, to the point that when I stepped back from my situation to make an assessment of my reactions, I was incredibly disappointed to see how often I met them with failure. And here I thought I was doing so well… This only proves that I’m still a work in progress, and that God isn’t giving up on me. I’ll continue to be faced with these challenging and spiritually stressful or frustrating situations until I consistently choose reliance on God’s perfect timing and contentment in whatever situation I may face.

The clarity of my life only comes when I reflect upon it through Christ. So that, if nothing else, is what I would like to communicate to all of you today. Take a moment to really sit down and pray to God about your struggles and ask the Lord to reveal Himself and His plan to you so that you may follow His paths for your life, rather than you own, that you might experience the fullness and joy of a life in which you daily choose Christ. I’ve recently noticed that when I look for, find, and pray a piece of scripture that sort of encapsulates my current life situation, my prayers seem more complete and my spirit feels more fulfilled than when I sit and ramble on and on and on trying to pray something eloquent on my own. Lately, my prayer has been this:

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me in the way everlasting.” [Psalm 139:23-24] Amen.

4 responses »

  1. 1 Corinthians 10:12

    New International Version (NIV)

    12 So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! This came to mind when I read your blog today…the Christian life is not a sprint. Some things we have to learn over & over. Learning to trust is one of those things. I love you Eden. Thanks for your thoughts…they really help me.
    Grandma

  2. Eden…you never cease to amaze me with the wisdom you have in your youth. Good thoughts…God is good…all the time…All the time…He is good! I embrace it. He ALWAYS answers our prayers with a yes, no or not now…I love you honey.

    Daddy

  3. I found this tonight, trying to sleep and not getting there. So I decided to look around wordpress and see what folks were posting about religion. Some very sadly misled people are posting some very sad, misleading stuff. But then I came across this, and it’s like a drink of cool water to a thirsty soul. Good post, well written. The part about being presented with situations and being disappointed in your reactions – that REALLY resonated. I’ve been dealing with similar things and also disappointing myself. May the LORD continue to guide you as you honestly seek Him!!

    • Thank you! It truly is a blessing to me when what I see and experience in my life can be shared with others and be a source of encouragement. 🙂

What do you think?

