Powerful Prayer

Standard

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

How wonderful is it when you can tangibly experience the power of prayer and God’s Holy presence working in your life?? I say it’s pretty amazing. First, I’d like to point out that I’ve reached the point in my life where I can now navigate my hard copy Bible- yes, I mean actual leather bound book with paper pages- faster than I can the Bible application on my android. I don’t know whether to be excited that I know the scripture that well, or upset at my lack of interest in technological advancement… either way, I have some incredible stories to tell.

So as I’ve been writing since April, my husband and I decided to purchase a home- our first- and we finally were able to close on it last week! Praise God! That’s some incredible news that has been a long time coming, for sure. But, that’s not the best news. The best news started out as some awful and gut-wrenching news…

…I was going through the last stages of preparing for closing on the house. Because we purchased from the owner without using a realtor or realty service, we- the buyers- were responsible for all of the closing costs. Well to make a long story slightly shorter, I was checking my email like a fiend, waiting for the final HUD, or statement of closing costs so that we would know how much money we were responsible for at the time of closing. Our date was set for Friday morning, and it wasn’t until Thursday evening I got the email that said our closing costs came to a total of over $4,000, because I had not yet paid the insurance premium. I swallowed my tongue a little… T0 a couple who has only been married and on their own for 2-ish years, that was a SIZABLE chunk of change, and most of our bank account. Guess what I did after I read that email? For those of you who guessed panic and cry, you are correct. After THAT, I began to pray. I prayed with tears in my eyes. I texted, called, emailed all our closest friends and had them start praying too… We prayed and thanked God for allowing us to find the perfect home and be able to live in it 4 months prior to closing so we weren’t homeless. We prayed for God to handle the financial situation, as we had asked Him from the beginning of the whole process.  We prayed, and prayed, and prayed. [1 Thes. 5:16-18]

After I paid the insurance premiums out-of-pocket, the closing cost rounded out to just about $3,000… Thursday evening passed with more prayer, and more reading of scripture to ease my worrisome mind. Friday morning came. With a rock in my stomach, Mitch and I gathered our thoughts and prayers and went to get the money orders made out before closing that morning. We walked in to walmart and stood in the line. Just as our turn in line came, I got an email notification on my phone. Out of habit more than anything else, I checked it immediately. I couldn’t believe my eyes, and I felt like my body was about to perform every function it knew how right there not the least of which was wetting my pants with joy and surprise. It was the FINAL revision of the HUD, and it was over $800 less than the amount we were about to verbalize to the cashier who was waiting to print up our money orders! HOLY COW!!!!!!!!!!!

I couldn’t believe it! I started to cry and got all flustered. Our prayers had been answered! God had made sure we had enough money in our account to cover closing costs, as well as allow us to eat for the rest of the month! It was at that moment I realized the value of good Christian friends and family who will pray for your needs. It wasn’t until later that I marveled at how God didn’t increase our wealth, He simply made what we already had to be enough. That was what really touched my spirit. The words of Philippians 4:19 echoed in my mind as well as the words from a song that goes something like, “…His grace is enough for me…” Hallelujah! How true that is! God’s word is alive and thriving people! It is relevant! It touches my life every day. If this isn’t proof, then I don’t know what is.

With this whole little “financial miracle” as I like to call it still fresh in my mind, I pondered a devotional I read this morning. It brought up Psalm 90:15, and how the closer we walk to the light, the more clearly we can see what is around us. Amen to that. Those times when I feel so lost and out of control are always the times in which I’ve gone days without any devotional time, or prayer. And I’m discovering more and more that I AM growing in spirit and in faith because where I used to have to slide back into depression to feel God pulling me close to Him,  I can now sense that I’m chosing God more often than not, and I’m chosing prayer where I used to choose worry, anxiety or fear. I read somewhere that fear is simply lack of faith. What I’ve learned is that either I believe God is who the Bible says He is; who He’s proven Himself to be in my life, or I don’t. There isn’t a halfway. And the more I look at where I have been, the more I understand where I am now, and the more I want to continue to grow closer to the Lord every day for the rest of my life. My faith is stronger, my marriage is better, my friendships are more genuine, and my life is overall more joyful than ever before. The reason Christianity has survived for over 2,000 years is because it is the truth; the ONLY truth. If I ever I was shaky in my faith in God’s provision, I’m more firm in believing that He’ll sustain me than I ever have been.  I hope this experience is an inspiration to you who read this to draw close to God through reading his word and heart-felt, sincere prayer and praise to God the Father.

2 responses »

  1. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

What do you think?

